logo trutrip

Covid Entry Check: Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands Travel Restrictions

This Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands dashboard provides you with information on travel restrictions, quarantine on entry, Covid-19 cases, entry requirements and green lane updates.

  • Open for Travel
  • Up to 10 Days
Last reviewed on 9 Feb 2021, 04:57AM UTC

Covid-19 Statistics
0% (last 7 days)
0% (last 7 days)

Can you enter?

Entry is restricted to Citizens and PRs, Spouse & Children of Citizens/PRs, Other Residents (pass holders), An entry ban is in effect for most foreign travellers. Residents of Svalbard and those with work permits are exempt. Tourists are permitted to enter from "green" areas within the European Union (EU), the European Economic Area (EEA) and the Schengen Area with low transmission of COVID-19. Visitors from "red" areas will continue to be subject to a 10-day home quarantine. The list of "green" and "red" areas will be updated by Norwegian health officials every two weeks.

What to expect in Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands?

📝 Before your trip

You must obtain advance arrival permission to board your plane.

🛬 On Arrival

On Arrival there are no Covid specific requirements such as testing.

😷 Quarantine details

General arrivals will be required to quarantine for up to 10days; Quarantine served at a home or at a dedicated facility (cost borne to traveller) (special arrangement may apply due to GreenLanes). For more information: https://www.fhi./en/op/vel-coronavirus-facts-advice/facts-and-general-advice/travel-advice-COVID19/

🛂 Travel restrictions

There are routes that have Green Lanes with fewer restrictions, see below.
There are no routes that have greater restrictions at this time.

✅ Greenlane Agreement
Open without restrictions
Open without restrictions
Open without restrictions
Open without restrictions
Open without restrictions
Other GreenLanes are available from
Switzerland, United Kingdom, Andorra, Croatia, Denmark, France, Greece, Italy, Latvia, Portugal, Austria, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, Greenland, Hungary, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Slovakia, Slovenia